

## MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards winners announced

Issued by Media Development and Diversity Agency

The Media Development and Diversity Agency and Sanlam are pleased to announce the winners of the MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards which were presented on Friday, 23 May, at a gala event held at Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre in Boksburg near Johannesburg.







Some of the top honours went to Zita Goldswain of Witbank News who took the honours as Journalist of the Year, NFM the coveted Community Radio Station of the Year while Bush Radio took the prestigious Rantho-Letsebe Community Media Award, Herman Steyn of Die Pos/The Post was again named Press Photographer of the Year and Laila Maijiet of the People's Post was awarded the Alet Roux Medal for the best newcomer in print journalism.

Congratulating the winners, the CEO of the MDDA Mr Lumko Mtimde said: "We wish to congratulate the winners for excellent work and thank all those who took their time to enter the Awards. We also acknowledge and thank the two judging panels for the broadcast and print sections who selflessly give of their time to ensure that we have a thorough, fair and credible process."

Seven hundred and fifty entries were received for the 2013 Awards, the biggest response to the awards since the partnership between the MDDA and Sanlam four years ago.

Sanlam's Head of Group Communications, Ainsley Moos, said: "We are inspired by the steady growth of the Awards initiative. It is from wide participation that we can sustain the Awards and have serious competition. The judging panels have done an excellent job to identify the best from what we believe was a great body of work from the entrants."

The winners are as follows:

## **PRINT FINALISTS**

AWARD	Winner
	1. WRITING AWARDS
Hard News	Anoeschka von Meck, Knysna-Plett Herald
Investigative Journalism	Tereasa Ferrari, Lowvelder/Laevelder
Human Interest	Michelle Linnert, TygerBurger
Sport	Quintin van Jaarsveld, South Coast Fever and Upper Coast Fever
Columns	Avuyile Mngxitana-Diko, Grocott's Mail

27 May 2014

	Winner
	2. PHOTOGRAPHY
News	Michelle Linnert, TygerBurger
Sport	Sifiso Mathebula, Echo and Ridge Times
Features and Portraits	Herman Steyn, Die Pos/The Post
General interest	Evan Naudé, Weslander
Press Photographer of the Year	Herman Steyn, Die Pos/The Post
Journalist of the Year	Zita Goldswain, Middelburg Observer
Alet Roux Medal	Laila Majiet, People's Post
	NEWSDADED AWADDS
	3. NEWSPAPER AWARDS
BEST FRONT PAGES: Community/Grassroots Media	3. NEWSPAPER AWARDS  Upstart - Youth Development Project
BEST FRONT PAGES: Community/Grassroots Media Small Independent Commercial Newspaper -	
BEST FRONT PAGES: Community/Grassroots	Upstart - Youth Development Project
BEST FRONT PAGES: Community/Grassroots Media Small Independent Commercial Newspaper - Emerging Small Independent	Upstart - Youth Development Project  Zithethele

Community/Grassroots	Ikamva Lase Gcuwa
Small Independent Established (5 years plus)	Grocott's Mail
Small Independent Emerging (2- 5 years)	Zithethele
Corporate-owned Free Sheets	Tabletalk
Corporate Owned Paid Newspapers (Hultzer Trophy): circulation less than 10 0000	Mpumalanga News
Corporate Owned Paid Newspapers (Cronwright Trophy): circulation more than 10 000	Lowvelder/Laevelder

## **BROADCAST FINALISTS**

Category	Station/Entrant /Finalist
Best Community Radio	NFM
Rantho-Letsebe Community Media Award	Bush Radio
Best Sports Magazine Show (Radio)	Bay FM
Best Children's Programme (Radio)	Alex FM
3000 1-000 - 000 000 000 000 000 000 000	Radio Khwezi
Best Educational Show (Radio)	Alex FM
Best Indigenous Programme (Radio)	Alex FM
The second of the second of the second of the second of	Radio Khwezi
Best Drama (Radio)	Radio Khwezi
Excellence in Investigative Journalism (Radio)	Radio Khwezi
Best Business Programme (Radio)	Chai FM
Excellence in In-depth Coverage and Current Affairs	Radio Riverside
Broadcasting in Indigenous Languages	Radio Khwezi
Best educational Magazine Show (TV)	Bay TV

- \* Deadline looms for MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards entries for 2014 23 Jan 2015
- " MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards entries for 2014 now open 26 Nov 2014
- \* Entries open for MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards 25 Nov 2014
- \* Mandla Langa acknowledges 20 years of media freedom and diversity 28 May 2014
- \*\* MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards winners announced 27 May 2014

## Media Development and Diversity Agency



The Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) is a statutory development agency for promoting and ensuring media development and diversity.

Profile | News | Contact | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com