

## "All" the inaugural Bookmarks winners



14 Nov 2008

The inaugural Online Publishing Association's Bookmark Awards last night, Thursday, 13 November 2008, were not without controversy, as some of goodie bag CDs - supposedly the 2008 showreel of the winners - instead contained what appears to be confidential Primedia 365 internal communications. Several hours later, Bizcommunity.com has managed to track down the actual official list of the winners...

The OPA Bookmarks, held at the Atlas Studios in Auckland Park, have been dogged by controversy as some nominees also opted not to attend after being told to pay for their own tickets, and information has been scarcer than hen's teeth from the organisers.





There were merely a handful of winners that met the high standards of the two international judges Johan Tesch, creative director at BBH

London, and Dick Buschman, founder and owner of ACHTUNG!, in this awards ceremony intended to benchmark the best in creative digital media in South Africa - a result that is causing much talk.

Out of 14 categories, a mere two Golds, two Silvers and seven Bronzes were awarded - mainly to ad agencies - **seven** categories had no winners, only finalists. The Greatest Individual Contribution to New Media went to JP Farinha, the incoming CEO of 24.com. It was almost like being at the Loeries again, hearing the names of companies such as Gloo and Hello Computer called out frequently (except we were standing around cocktail-style and not squeezed into a grandstand of cramped seats in a portable tent).

## Winners and finalists

Category	Result	Entry	Company
Best site - Product Launch	Finalist	Who is Joe Public?	Gloo & Joe Public
Best site - Ongoing	Gold	amplifiedjourneys	Liquorice
Best site - Ongoing	Silver	Fashion Evolution Springleap	Springleap
Best site - Ongoing	Bronze	<u>freshlyground</u>	Prezence
Best site - Ongoing	Bronze	Russian Bear	Hello Computer
Best site - Ongoing	Finalist	Chew the magazine	Chew
Best site - Ongoing	Finalist	Lexus SA	Dylan Kruger
Best site - Ongoing	Finalist	Mavericks Review Bar	Hello Computer
Best microsite - product launch	Gold	Youngblood5	Gloo & Net#work
Best microsite - product launch	Bronze	<u>Hummerville</u>	Gloo
Best microsite - product launch	Finalist	Auris City	Draftfcb Johannesburg
Best microsite - product launch	Finalist	MINI John Cooper Works Microsite	Aqua Online
Best microsite - ongoing	Bronze	seduction 101	M-Net
Best microsite - ongoing	Finalist	Burp Tennis	Mnemonic
Media Plan	Finalist	springleap	Springleap
Online Advertising - Special award for innovation	Finalist	Fluffy Bunny - ghostpops	Gloo & Net#work
			BBDO
Online Advertising - Best use of standard	Bronze	Red Carpet - Virgin Money	Gloo
formats			

Online Advertising - Best use of standard formats	Finalist	savanna	DraftFCB Ct
Online Advertising - Best use of standard formats	Finalist	Spiderman3	Prezence
Online Advertising - Effective use of applications	Finalist	Lipton - turn over a new leaf	Cowafrica
Online Advertising - Best use of multiple channels	Bronze	Hummerville	Gloo
Online Advertising - Best use of multiple channels	Silver	youngblood5	Gloo
Online Advertising - Best use of multiple channels	Finalist	VIP Tee	Urbian
Online Advertising - Best use of multiple channels	Finalist	who is joe	Gloo & Joe Public
Online Advertising - Viral Marketing	Finalist	Jack Daniels Crack Jack's Safe	Hello Computer
E-mail marketing	Bronze	<u>Virgin Money</u>	Gloo & Black River
E-mail marketing	Finalist	Motorola Ching chong Cha	Draftfcb Jhb
E-mail marketing	Finalist	youngblood5	Gloo
Mobile Ad - best innovation using mobile	Finalist	Ster Kinekor WAP	Prezence
Mobile Ad - best innovation using mobile	Finalist	Standard Bank ATM & Branch locator	Standard Bank
Mobile Ad - best innovation using mobile	Finalist	thegrid	Cowafrica
Mobile Ad - most effective campaign	Finalist	Adme	Silverstone
Greatest individual contribution to new media		JP Farinha	

On the question of judges, the OPA Exco was only involved in short-listing the roughly 200 entries; the two international judges made the final decision. Also note that JP Farinha, the incoming CEO of 24.com who was awarded Greatest Individual Contribution to New Media, was not a judge as he resigned from the OPA Exco a few months ago.

View OPA Bookmarks gallery here

## ABOUT SIMONE PUTERMAN

Simone Puterman (@SimoneAtLarge) is currently editor-at-large at Marklives.com and deputy chair of the Sanef online editors subcommittee. After majoring in psychology and Simone Atterman (@simoneAttarge) is currently editor-at-large at Warkines.comand deputy chair of the Saher online editors subcommittee. After majoring in psychology, and linguistics at Rhodes University, and then completing her honours in psychology, she has been in the world of B2B publishing since 1997, with 7.5 year stints at both WriteStuff Publishing and Bizcommunity.com (March 2006-August 2013). Email her at simone@marklives.com

[Design Indaba 2012] Q&A with MBOISA, expo winners - 8 Mar 2012

Biz feels the love - 31 May 2011

New logo for News24.com - 14 Oct 2010

Ross returns as Tribal DDB SA ECD - 15 Jul 2010

Livanita Williams to Jeans DOI for Zeony. 5 Jul 2010

- Juanita Williams to leave IOL for Zoopy - 5 Jul 2010

View my profile and articles...

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com